First up was his very first taste of a vegetable. As I mentioned before his belly is super sensitive so I have to be super careful about what he eats and exactly how much. I googled my little heart out to find out about what foods might cause issues and what ones should be ok. I settled with trying Peas first. I was excited to see how he would do, he on the other hand was not so excited about the adventure. He made a face at me like I was trying to kill him. He gagged and spit at me and kicked his little legs so hard I thought the tray of the highchair might come flying off. Im a mean mommy and continued to make him eat it. hehe Each bite got somewhat better but he was still not so much a fan. He started throwing a fit before he was even done. He started crying so hard I had no choice but to get him out. Continuing with the mean mommy theme I tried to give him a few more bites while I was holding him, and this time to my suprise he actually ate it with no problems. Can we say SPOILED. At 4 monhts old he definitely already knows how to get what he wants, but I think its cute..so for now ill play along. Good news to report though, is I tried again the following day and he ate them no problem. The Daddy loves peas, so maybe thats were he gets it from.
The second big first of the week is..He went to the babysitter for the first time in his entire life. Previously to this I had only been away from him for
ONE hour in his entire little life. He was 2 months old and he stayed with my mom while I was getting a haircut, that was back when we were visiting in Indiana. I needed to get some things done and I just knew he wouldnt last through the entire list of errands. He tolerates his carseat for about 0.2 seconds and after that its an all out screaming fit ( once the warmer weather gets here, and stays put we are making the switch to a convertable carseat in hopes of making the little man happier). Through of series of people I find someone they all use and love, and she also happens to be a friend of mine, so I asked her if she could keep him for me for a few hours. I took him over yesterday morning, explained everything and took off before he woke up. I couldnt say goodbye to him, it would have broken me to pieces. Leaving him was the absolute hardest thing I have ever had to do. EVER! I have sent my husband away to war more than once, and this was harder than that. My child, my baby was being left with someone else. Hes been attached to me for the last 4 months. Every single second I have been in charge of him, being there when he cried or laughed or needed something. Overreacting much? Maybe, but it was the first time and man, was it hard. The good news to report though is he did fantastic. His showed his awesome little personality and babbled her ear off and flashed her a few gummy old man smiles. Gotta love that kid. He was asleep when I picked him up and didnt wake up until we got back home. He opened his adorable blue eyes, and when he saw me he smiled so big. Those are the moments that make my heart melt. He was so happy to see me, his
Mommy :-)
Funny story, The other day at the doctor we had to wait out in the waiting room for his shots. They were pretty backed up so there were quite a few people waiting, most were soldiers. We has been at the doctors office for a while at this point so I was concerned about the little man getting fussy. Once he gets overly tired, hes had enough and there is no making him happy from then on, so I was trying to do everything possible to keep that from happening. He was laying on my lap for a while being content, but then he decided he wanted to be restless. He was standing on my legs ( this happens pretty much all the time, that kid LOVES to stand) and looking around at everyone. The babbling started and he was trying to command all the attention in the room. Being men, and most of them were younger at that, they tried to just ignore him. My kid was NOT having that! He would bend over as far as he could, give them a deep stare, and babble louder and louder until they atleast looked up, and then he would flash them a huge smile. I tried to shhhhh him, but that was not happening. By the end of our wait, he had the entire room giving him attention, exactly what he wanted. Little stinker!
His little personlity amazes me. Already he is a people person. He loves to babble and smile at EVERYONE. This is definitely an adjustment for me since ive extremely shy and would rather not have everyone looking at me. With Isaac now, thats just not a possibility. Everywhere we go he gathers a crowd, seriously. Grocery store, if im wearing him everyone wants to stop me and tell me just how cuteeeeeeee he is. If hes in his carseat on the cart, people will literally stop my cart and strike up a conversation with me about him, and then baby talk with him. This is what happens pretty much everywhere. I cant get in and out of somewhere without atleast one person stopping me. Theres also the people that dont say anything but I can tell they still notice. They flash huge smiles at him and try to get his attention from across the room. Hes such a show off and loves the attention. Sounds crazy for a 4 month old, but its true. His bubbly, happy, little personality makes me smile, it also makes me happy that he can bring a smile to pretty much anyones face. You just cant have a bad day once he smiles at you. That little boy has my heart! I cant wait as he gets older to see even more how much his personality progresses. I can only imagine him doing something rotten and then flashing the famous little smile. How can I be mad at that, lol! I can only imagine whats going to happen once the Daddy gets home, hes going to have him wrapped around his little finger! Gotta love him!
He is trying SO hard to sit up. He can sit on his own if I sit him down, which apparently hes doing earlier than most babies his age? Thats what most people are telling me, they are shocked at how well he can sit up, hes been doing it since he was 3 months old, so thats all I have to base it on. Anyways, while laying on his back he tries to get up into the seated position. Hes not able to do it, which ends up leaving him flailing around in a V position, quite funny, until he gets mad. When he cant accomplish something, he gets extremely frustrated. I cant wait until the day when hes mobile, it will make my already happy baby even happier. Now when he goes in his bouncy seat (which isnt very often because all he tries to do now is sit up because he hates laying down) I have to actually strap him in. The other day I sat him down in there with a toy for a few minutes. Right away he started to try to pull himself forward to sit up. One strong push and he was up and out of the seat before I could even get to him. He propelled himself so hard forward that he ploped right out of the chair onto the floor, face first. Hes a rough and tumble kid though, I picked him up..and he just smiled at me. Goober. For now we are still working on rolling from his back onto his belly. He hates being on his belly, so its making it a difficult task. He learned at 2 months how to roll onto his back and has been content with that. He will get it eventually.
Thats all for now from our neck of the woods. Still counting down the days and missing The Daddy like crazy.
- The Mommy